ril's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hope Springs Eternal

I am very pleased to say that my date yesterday was absolutely fantastic. Although I've not dated as much the last couple of years as I did there for a bit (I just got worn down... plus, it really does take a certain level of effort to raise a "willful" teenage boy) but... this was the best "first date" I've been on in a really long time.

The best part (in addition to the pleasantries of meeting someone who gets and holds your attention and whom, at the end of the evening, you want to know more about -- and if you're me) is that I have confirmed that there are, in fact, people like that out there in the world... not just cool people (cause, I've "met" couple of them here in D-Land)... but cool people who think I'm cool too (and are not now married :) ... reciprocal cool...

The date was simple enough... your basic movie and dinner (btw I highly recommend Tristan & Isolde... you think it's going to be formulaic, and it may be a bit, but it is done exceptionally well). The thing that made it so pleasant is that... after the e-mails, the phone calls, and the ritual picture exchange... there was the simple pleasure of looking into someone else's eyes and seeing the twinkle... the kind of thing from which "sparkles" are born...

This was just a first date. I don't want to blow it out of proportion... there are thousands, if not millions, of reasons our "relationship" won't make it past a pleasant friendship. That is not the issue. The reason for my excitement is that it gave me hope... the rebirth of possibility...

(I'd say something about kissing enough frogs... but that's mostly a woman's idiom... though it does remind me of the funniest online dating tagline I've seen so far... "Princess, having had sufficient experience with Prince, seeks Frog.").

I also report that, although I did not make it to church last weekend (putting me at 50% on my New Year's goals), I did make it today.... another first in a long time... but I did it.

Having taken these first positive steps gives me just enough confidence to believe that I will be able to take more... maybe not huge steps, or progress everyday, and maybe not without setbacks... but in the right direction...

- 2006-01-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plankton
alicewonders