ril's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Eyes of Texas

The Eyes of Texas Are Upon You

Before I begin sharing my own brand of what I occasionally try to pass off as wisdom (damn it Kristin, stop rolling your eyes at me), let me bring you up to speed on the essential background:

I�m 39, but turn 40 very soon � and I�m not very happy about it either, single (pronounced �divorced�), and am currently living with my 19 year old daughter (whom I call �Princess� � by which I mean �Anti-Christ�). Seriously, I love my daughter about as much as one person can possibly love another� she�s attractive, intelligent, and has an amazing talent for empathizing with the emotions of those around her� if only she would use her powers for good instead of evil� *sigh* But, I digress�

I�m from Texas, but am living in New York (which will be the subject of many future rants I�m sure). I have a great job (pays well and I don�t have to do anything resembling real work � because I�m the boss *he he*), but am still looking for something better� something along the lines of a perpetual vacation in which a regular paycheck is mailed to my offshore account�

I took the Texas Bar exam this past July and the �suitable for framing� license was waiting for me when I got home� *sing with me* �The Eyes of Texas Are Upon You�� (you _did_ stand for that, didn�t you?)

35 degrees and raining here, 75 degrees and sunshine there� and ya�ll wonder why I�d ever want to leave the �Center of the Universe.� (which, I�ve discovered, can be New York, Washington, or Los Angeles depending on where you�re located)�

Today is also my mother�s birthday. I am such a shit! I didn�t even send her a card� I just forgot� so I gave her the lame phone call� �Uh, mom� Happy Birthday. I _meant_ to get my fat ass off the couch, go the store, and actually put some effort into getting you something� but I didn�t� you know, December came early this year and all.� I suck!

I have no idea where webchick has disappeared to, but if she ever comes back from whatever adventure she�s on, I�ve asked her to design my d-land page� I�ve already ordered her the first book on her wishlist�another example of something I should probably do myself, but have found a way to buy my way out of� (but, if I knew how to do it, I�d have made that last reference to webchick a hyperlink)� where IS my secretary?

- 2001-12-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plankton
alicewonders