ril's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All Generalities Are False

All generalities are false� generally speaking, that is.

I�ve been doing this online diary thing for exactly one day and I�m already feeling the pressure to produce� to be witty and engaging� thought-provoking and entertaining� aaargh! (Sezzy, how do you do it Darlin�?).

Don�t get me wrong. I _really_ love women� especially the idea of them (since the reality never quite matches the theory). I mentioned that I�m divorced� actually there are two former Mrs. Me�s� though technically, if you just _have_ to split hairs, I�ve been married three times (because, for reasons that defy all understanding, I married the second ex twice) � what in the _hell_ was I thinking? Anyway, that�s not the point�

The point is that now that I�ve decided that I might be interested in more than casual dating, I have discovered that there are some obstacles I�m going to have to overcome� not the least of which is my current working theory that �All women are bitches.� (funny how most women don�t find that even a little bit amusing)� and, before you fire up the hate e-mail, please understand that I am perfectly willing to stipulate to whatever male corollary(ies) you care to subscribe to� and, it�s not that every woman is a total bitch all the time (though when they�re being a bitch to you it can seem that way), it�s that every woman is fully and completely capable of being a bitch at any given moment� and the best that you can hope for is that the woman you�re with won�t be a bitch to you for a few more minutes� God love �em�

What set me off on this? Well, there I was in the toilet at O�Hare airport a couple of days ago, when I read what has to be the greatest of all bathroom wall philosophies: �No matter how good looking she is, and no matter how much you love her, someone somewhere is sick of her shit!�

Other obstacles on the road to �for time and all eternity� (and, again, you may assume that I will agree that these apply to men as well as women � but this is my rant and I get to spin it any way I want to): 1) All the good ones are gone� but if I�m not �gone,� does that mean I�m not a good one? I mean I used to be �gone,� but now I�m not� so was I a good one before and not now, or was I not a good one before and someone just finally figured it out� 2) baggage� I figure that no one (including me) gets to be nearly 40 without accumulating at least _some_ baggage� and that�s okay� but I�ve also discovered that, in order to build a more-than-buddies male-female relationship, most (if not all) of that baggage needs to be stowed safely in the overhead compartment� is that too much to ask? I am so sick of sitting through the first-date spaghetti dinner from hell listening to what a selfish, lazy, sorry bastard her ex used to be� for cryin� out loud� she married the guy� either there are some redeeming male qualities in there somewhere (how ever far removed they may be at the moment) or she should be willing to admit fault for marrying the guy to begin with� *sigh*

God I love women�

- 2001-12-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plankton
alicewonders