ril's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On Spaghetti Dinners

On Spaghetti Dinners

I�ve noticed that people of my general age (I�m 41 thank you) tend to think of going to dinner as a reasonably �safe� first date sort of thing to do. And, truth be told, I suppose I�m one of them� I think that going to a relatively nice restaurant and having a leisurely dinner can be a great way of getting the opportunity to get to know someone. In fact, if the meal is reasonably good and the date has any conversation skills at all, the dinner can last several enjoyable hours.

Now, I�m not saying that you can tell if you really like someone over a single dinner (�cause we all know that you really can�t), but I do think that you can tell fairly quickly that you aren�t interested�

If the observation of non-interest comes too early (like on the way to the restaurant), then dinner is usually mind-numbing� excruciating� and my term for these sorts of dates is �the spaghetti dinner.� Unfortunately (but not too surprisingly I suppose), I�ve been on both sides of the table for these kinds of dinners� and it�s not very much fun either way�

A week or so ago I had the opportunity to go out to dinner with a woman I�d already been out with a few times. We hadn�t really had much of an opportunity to spend too much time together doing other things because both of our schedules are extremely hectic. In fact, one of our dinners was near the airport on a day that I was flying in and she was flying out�

We seemed to enjoy each other�s company, though (in my opinion) there wasn�t what you�d call any sort of �connection.� Oh well� no big deal. Still, we both seemed to be of the opinion that good dinner companions can sometimes be hard to find, and so like I said we�ve ended up going out a couple of times. But last week�s dinner was different from the start�

For one thing, both of us wanted to try a very nice restaurant that we�d heard about in the city. The other thing was that neither of us had any plans for the following day� and I think we were both sort of hoping that we�d have ended up being glad we didn�t�

Dinner itself was absolutely fantastic. The restaurant was everything it had been hyped to be� extensive wine list, fabulous food, and impeccable service (the tab was a personal best for a dinner for two � but I think I sort of expected that).

The problem was that somewhere between dinner and dessert I figured out that I was already tired of being with this woman� I found myself wanting to scream. I won't go into details, but I felt like that guy in the �wingman� beer commercial� only there wasn�t even a team to take this one for�

When I drove her back to her house she practically tried to drag me into the house� and I wasn�t having any part of it� which, as it turned out, made her about as mad as any woman I�ve ever seen (that I wasn�t married to at the time *grin*)� damnedest thing I ever saw�

And so a great filet turned into the worst spaghetti dinner of all time�

- 2003-05-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plankton
alicewonders