ril's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Echos

Echos

I�ve been in a much better mood for the past couple of days� I�d say that it was for no particular reason (and it has been), but there wasn�t any significant reason for me to have been down to begin with� and so I guess I�m back where I started (again�. and again� and again�).

On Monday I left to go to another facility upstate (which, as the �real� New Yorkers tells me, is anything above about 86th Street). In this case, it was way upstate�

Ordinarily I am not a big fan of travel. It�s not that I don�t like new places, because I generally do. It�s just that to my way of thinking the getting there is so often not worth the being there� but, because I was just going a couple of hundred miles, I drove up� a long drive in beautiful weather with the top down� just what the doctor ordered�

I�m not sure why driving is so therapeutic for me, but it generally is� something about being able to more or less unconsciously filter through and sort out the accumulated junk that sometimes piles up in my mind�

I�m not sure that I came to any life-altering conclusions (in fact, it would be more accurate to say that I�m sure that I didn�t), but both my shoulders and my spirit felt lighter when I got there�

The return trip today was different. It rained a good bit of the way, and traffic was unusually heavy� and I arrived home a bit worse for the wear�

I recognize this for what it is� allowing my environment to influence (control) my response� being �reactive� in Covey-speak� and I am trying to overcome it� I think I will, if for no other reason than because it is the kind of thing my mind can sink its proverbial teeth into and work its way through�

The plus side is that the tension has also made me tired, and so I think I�ll go to bed and see what the morning brings�

I get so tired of wrapping myself around the axle for no particular reason� I need to be able to pick my battles more carefully�

I can beat this� and I will�

11:40 p.m. - 2003-06-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plankton
alicewonders