ril's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Y2K + 6 Um... yeah


I know better than to make anything that even remotely resembles a New Year�s Resolution. I just don�t have it in me to see those types of grandiose plans through.

Instead, I am going to make a couple of small promises to myself and see how well I do on those. My goals are meager: 1) get up on time for work this Tuesday, and 2) to go to church next Sunday.

Last night I wrote a long (15 page) letter� well, more like a venting of my spleen� and shared it with a select few people in my contacts list. It all started with my trying to write my own version of the �Christmas Letter.� I just couldn�t do it. There weren�t enough actual noteworthy events in my life last year to even pretend I�d had a good year. I didn�t exactly have a bad year either� just the sort of year that takes 365 days to finish, but without any other evidence that I had been part of it. And so I climbed up on my soapbox and ranted� and raved� and bitched� and pissed� and moaned. And, naturally, since it was New Year�s Eve and I was alone and about half lit, I wanted to share it�

I don�t know that I�d have made the same decision in the (sober) bright light of day� but� it turns out that it was VERY therapeutic� I feel better today than I have in a long time� and am ready to take a running start into 2006.

If I actually make it to work on time Tuesday, I�ll see how I feel about Wednesday� same thing for my going to church� we�ll see how I do at one Sunday before I commit to any more�

After all� even running is one step at a time.


PS. This being my first entry in 2 years, all of the pictures in my previous page design are long gone. Also, there seems to have been a major hiccup in my archive coding and so I had to resort to a �default� layout to get my ancient entries out of computer jail. If I can mange to write more than a couple of entries this year, I�ll see about getting a new page layout.

- 2006-01-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plankton
alicewonders