ril's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

American by Birth

American by Birth

For those of you not keeping score at home, I am originally from Texas but, for reasons beyond the scope of this rant, am currently living in New York� and that is where our story for today begins�

As happens from time-to-time in a place as large as the Co., we occasionally have the need for legal assistance. And, when you�re a large national corporation � and you have more money than you have sense � you hire �The Firm.� �The Firm� in our case happens to be one of the largest law firms in the country (something over 800 attorneys)� the kind of people who topple small countries for sport.

It�s not that �The Firms� of the world are inherently evil places (unless you work there, in which case they will suck the soul right out of you), but I can honestly say that I�ve never met an attorney from one of �The Firm�s� New York office who I didn�t think was a complete ass� and do you know why? Because whenever one of these dick heads meet someone with a Southern accent, they immediately jump to the conclusion that they are talking to an idiot � which is a _very_ serious error in judgment when it comes to this redneck� I mean, I may or may not be the sharpest tool in the shed - but, either way, it won't be because of my accent...

Even worse, it has been my experience that the further down the firm food chain these morons are, the worse their attitudes are� assholes�

Do you have any idea how badly it pisses me off to be billed $300/hr and up to be talked down to? Forget, for the moment at least, that I am the guy paying the bill� these are people with a job that I walked away from� which I know, but they don�t�

So here�s the moral of the story (just like on TV)� not only can�t you judge a book by its cover, doing so might very well cost you a client� there are other �Firms� to choose from, you know?

Yep... American by birth, Texan by the grace of God...

- 2002-01-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plankton
alicewonders