ril's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Female Lawyers

Female Lawyers�

*** Disclaimer ***

To the best of my knowledge, there is one person � and I think she knows who she is � this little rant probably does not apply to� though I�ve (thankfully) not had any dealings with her in her �professional capacity,� she strikes as me being the exception to my generality� but, as I�ve said before, �all generalities are false.�

*** End Disclaimer ***

Q: Do you know the difference between a female lawyer and a pit bull?
A: Lipstick.

Why is it that �professional� women (excluding, perhaps, the world�s oldest profession � not that I�d know, of course) are such bitches? I mean, sure, there is a time and a place where the gnashing of teeth is not only tolerated, but appropriate� but not every damned day�

In other words, I don�t really have a problem with female lawyers� I have a problem with bitches�

But if�

  1. you�re a female attorney, and
  2. you�ve ever seen New York, and
  3. you work for �The Firm,�

then the chances are approaching 100% that you�re a bitch� and there�s probably nothing either one of us can do to change it�

For the rest of you, here�s a clue� if someone who doesn�t have any other reason to dislike you does� either they�re an ass or you�re a bitch� and (and this is important) when the number of asses around you begin to accumulate, you should begin to re-think your original assessments�

My favorite attorney friend in the world is a female� and, as it turns out, she�s a bitch� BUT, she�s not a bitch to me� and, since that�s all I really care about, I think the world of her. It wasn�t always like that� I mean, even removing the gender issue, she�s about as hard core as hard core gets� ex-military officer (and an academy grad at that *booo*)� current military reservist� and just an all-around tight ass� but I called her on it and she crumbled� the fa�ade she used (in her own words) to seem �more aggressive in a man�s world� went away (at least when there weren�t any other people in the room) and we began to get along very well�

So I guess that my �real� point (if I have one at all) is that if you think that in order to measure up to some half-assed notion of what you think a woman has to be to get ahead in �a man�s world � which is, itself, a non sequitur � that you�ve just got to be a bitch, then PLEASE don�t be a bitch to ME� ever� especially if I deserve it...

Thanks�

- 2002-01-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plankton
alicewonders