ril's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Beautiful Mind

A Beautiful Mind

Well, I finally did it� I went and saw the movie I had been waiting for what seems like forever to see� and it was INCREDIBLE!!! Words alone cannot express the emotions that welled up from the deepest, secret recesses of my soul� I cried unashamedly like a little baby�

The movie is, of course, based on a biography of the same name by Sylvia Nasar� though, as it turns out, the resemblance is not much deeper than that. I bought the book just before Thanksgiving and moved it to the very top of my reading pile� although it subsequently gave way to all four Harry Potter books, and a re-read of Lake Wobegon Days� I�ve been reading pretty much steadily ever since, and refused to see the movie until I had finished the thing� the book is reasonably interesting though, for a biography of a world-famous academic, it had (IMHO) waaaaay too much �fluff� commentary � the sort of crap you�d expect from E! television� and I guess I was hoping for more of a PBS/Discovery take on Dr. Nash�s life�

What I got from the movie was completely unexpected� it was virtually unrecognizable as the same story� and I liked it� I liked it a LOT!

But now, with the house quiet around me� and the snow just beginning to fall outside, I feel a hollowness� a pain� the echo of a demon I thought had been exorcised� like the pain from a limb long gone� a very real hurt� but without a visible wound to tend to� and, buried in the darkest corners of my heart, the fear that it is a hurt which will never heal�

- 2002-01-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plankton
alicewonders