ril's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

40 is the new 30

40 is the new 30�

When you�ve seen as many movies as I have they sometimes run together. I�m thinking of one now whose name I can�t remember� but it was some cheesy teen movie (if that isn�t too redundant) and there was this running gag throughout the entire movie about �orange being the new pink� � whatever the movie was, the way the writers played around with that line was pretty funny....

The reason I thought of that movie was that I heard some guy doing an interview on NPR tonight. He said that �40 is the new 30.� I�ve given it a bit of thought and � although I�m still not entirely sure what he meant by the remark � I�ve decided I like the idea� so that�s going to be my new motto� 40 is the new 30�

The past few days have been relatively uneventful (thus the dearth of entries), but a couple of things of note� I watched the SuperBowl last night with mixed emotions� I am, by nature, a fan of the AFC� and so I couldn�t quite make myself root for the Rams� on the other hand, the 2nd former Mrs. Me was (is) a _huge_ Patriots fan� and, although I�ve never had anything against the Pats, and although I also don�t have anything against my second error in judgment, I just couldn�t quite get excited about the idea of rooting for a team I�d spent a lot of years rooting against (there really is a reason I�m divorced, you know� *grin*)� still, all and all, I enjoyed the game� My favorite commercial you ask? The answer (like most from any lawyer) is �it depends.� The one that made me laugh the hardest was the one where Barry Bonds was batting a few out of the park when he hears a �voice� telling him that he should retire and not to worry about the all time homerun record� and when the voice tells him the same thing again he stops and tell Hank to quit it� as in Hank Aaron� who was the voice coming over the stadium speaker� too damn funny� The commercial I thought was the best overall was the one that had the Budweiser Clydesdales strapped into their full �dress� harnesses, walking in a field that almost had to be in New Jersey, but with a very clear silhouette of the Manhattan skyline in the background, when the team stops and kneels� not a word to the whole thing and it spoke volumes� very powerful�

I did something tonight that I�m not very happy about. But, as so often happens, just because I didn�t like it doesn�t mean that it wasn�t the right thing to do� See� there was this woman (and this is where I _always_ get myself into trouble)� anyway, I had to have �the talk� tonight� I didn�t want to� but it would have been worse not to� I�ve become somewhat gun shy in my old age, and there�s no fight I wouldn�t rather walk away from� but she just wouldn�t let it go� I mean you�d think she�d get the idea when I dropped and refused to discuss her �proposal.� Or when I ducked every opportunity to tell her that I liked her �that way� � I hate it� I mean, she�s funny, she�s smart, she�s fun to hang out with, and I enjoy talking to her� but how do you explain to someone that you don�t� what they have to offer, that the minuses outweigh the plusses by a pretty good margin�

I mean, I know _one_ way to do it� maybe even a couple� but none that will clearly get the message across without hurting� and really don�t want to hurt anyone, much less someone I count as a very close friend� it seemed to go okay, and I hope it did� but it still sucked�

What the heck is going on in my life? I went for almost a year in which I practically couldn�t buy a date� and then a year with a friend� first I wanted more and then she wanted more, but never quite at the same time� and then several woman who all seemed to like me both more and differently than I liked them� I�m about to be alone� and I actually think I prefer it�

those are words I never thought I�d say�

and, having seen it in writing, I don�t really mean it� but I was sincere the other night when I said I�d rather be by myself than with the wrong person�

- 2002-02-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plankton
alicewonders