ril's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Motivation

I am very pleased to say that I did, in fact, make it to work on time today. *bow* Yes, I know it�s a little thing� but getting up in the morning is not what I do best.

Hmmm� I should mention I don�t work for Nuclear Co. any more (haven�t for 2 years now in fact � which you�d know if I updated my journal more often than that). Nope, I�m counsel for Mega Co. (think Fortune 500)� isn�t America great� poor kid from Trailer Park, Texas does okay for himself when he grows up� sort of� I�ll let you know� if, you know, I actually ever grow up�. Right now, I�m just old�

Which is sort of back to the topic. This morning, freshly pleased with myself for actually being where I�m supposed to be when I�m supposed to be there, I learn that Mega Co. will be having lay offs �sometime toward the middle of the year.� Just� damn�

Before I leave you with the impression I�m a total slug, I should say that I�m the kind of guy works at very random hours of the day and night to get the job done. I�ve spent the weekend writing a brief, taken into the office around noon the next day and gone home without ever saying a word to anyone. Fortunately for me, Mr. Boss is generally only concerned with my meeting his arbitrary deadlines, winning, and keeping him just informed enough about what I do to keep him from looking bad to his boss� and I am really good at all of those� and the only time he has ever said anything to me about my work hours was when I didn�t come into the office for a couple of days in a row (I forgot to tell him I was traveling to Washington, DC that week *Doh!*).

Still� I like my job� best job I ever had� I like defending �Oppressed Corporate America.� I like working for a Mr. Boss that treats me like an adult (and the other people there are all awesome too). You probably won�t believe this, but when we have �strategy� meetings to discuss our response to the latest random, (usually) well-intentioned, but (almost always) ill-conceived, regulatory/legislative initiative, we genuinely begin the discussion by asking �what�s the right thing to do?.� (and not what�s the �easiest� or �cheapest� thing to do� as our adversaries would have you beleive). Okay� okay�. *off soapbox*

Not to mention the new (to me) Casa here in the Leave-It-To-Beaver neighborhood� I don�t wanna lose my job dammit!

- 2006-01-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plankton
alicewonders