ril's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Out on a Limb

I celebrated my small victory of getting to work on time yesterday by not going in at all today�

I had stayed up until 2 am talking with a friend I hadn�t talked to in a long time� it turns out that she�s decided (sort of) to leave her husband, and that I�m apparently her �hero� for chucking it all and �chasing my dreams.� Hmmm�

I have no idea how people come up with these sorts of ideas about other people. One thing I have been noticing more-and-more lately (not just in my own life, thank you very much) is the oftentimes significant difference from people�s public �face� and their real life. She had just sent me a �Christmas Letter� � complete with pictures of all the smiling people � saying how wonderfully happy everyone was�. Actually� this must be pretty common. Another friend (who had sent a very similar Christmas Letter) called in response to my New Year�s Eve rant and was bawling her eyes out by the end of the call because she was so stressed about her marriage and career. Sort of like that �natural male enhancement� television ad where the guy is smiling and waving while the voiceover guy lists his accomplishments� and then the guy (though the smile) says something like �please kill me now.�

People say they like talking to me because they think I�m the calm, collected, rational type� that I never let anything get to me� that I have everything under control� which is very flattering, and would be way cool� if it were true.

Anyway, I rolled out of bed way past �fashionably late� and decided to spend the day in my home office writing and revising a brief that is due at the end of the week. I really do get a lot done when I work at home� but watching me do it would probably drive the average person nuts because I have about a 5 minute attention span when I�m doing something I don�t really want to do (and know in the back of my mind that I can still procrastinate about for a bit longer)�

So� somewhere during one of my many �breaks� I found myself on one of those online dating service websites�

I am not entirely comfortable with the idea of meeting people on the internet but, as a number of people have pointed out, the �right� person is not just gonna just show up and knock on my door one day (which I would be perfectly okay with � and would be WAY easier)� so I decided to try and give it a shot�

I�m not sure exactly what to expect� and my expectations are not very high� I mostly just don�t want it to suck.

- 2006-01-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plankton
alicewonders