ril's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday the 13th

I am still plowing through the early stages of online dating (I know it is probably crappy of me, but I've actually started a running list of FAQs from which I now cut-and-paste my answers to the questions I've been asked for what seems like the 100 times every day)...

Although I have not been at this very long, there are, I think, some generally applicable guidelines to online dating (which I have had to learn the hard way) which I think I can safely share... these are guidelines, not rules, and are from the perspective of an increasingly astonished (almost) middle aged Texas who possesses some firm ideas of appropriate behavior... your experiences may vary... in which case I sincerely tip my hat to you...

Beware the "glamour shot." When the first (and in most cases only) picture of your online "friend" is from one of those glamour studio places there is about 1/1,000,000,000 chance you would be able to pick her out of a lineup from that photo.

Beware the microscope/telescope shots. If the only picture posted is of nothing more than the eyes, nose, and mouth, then you may safely assume there is a reason... and whatever the reason is, it won't be good... the other extreme is the crappy picture that looks like it was taken from the far end of the drag strip ("I'm the third dot from the end.").

If your date radar fail you, and you hear yourself hearing something like �I brought along my old wedding photos so we could reminisce about the life I used to have that I�m completely over and have moved past and am not at all bitter or emotional about any more,� (I borrowed that line from a book on dating I'm reading) you should feel free to get up and leave... no finesse required...

If your date has had this sort of experience themselves (or one of its immediate relatives... say, like: "Would you like to see pictures of my surgery") you may be required to complete an intake interview, and may be requested to provide one or more of the following: DNA sample, FBI background check, credit history, or proof of insurance. Do not be alarmed. Your date is simply exercising an abundance of caution for which you should be appreciative... and reciprocate of course.

Having said all of that...

I'm really looking forward to my date tomorrow.

- 2006-01-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

plankton
alicewonders